A Hackney Childhood

Peace, one and all…

Following on from a recent post of Aaminah’s, I found a few photographs of the London of my youth on Flickr.  And so, I wanted to share them with the wider world.  (I took most of these photos from Alan Denney’s excellent Flickr collection; the picture of Mandeville Primary School comes from Sarflondondunc).

I grew up on Clapton Park Estate, Hackney, London, during the 70s and 80s.  The first photo is of the old tower blocks on Clapton Park Estate.  I used to live in the second one.  They were blown up in the 90s and replaced by houses.  I have many fond memories of playing in the sheds at the bottom, and in the car parks on my roller skates, etc. 

I went to Mandeville Primary School, a short distance from my home.  I think my name is still engraved on the wall there; I won an award way back in 1983!  If my memory serves me correctly, it was the first school in the area to appoint a black headmaster.  I suspect it may have been the first in London.  Mr. Griffiths was a kind but firm man, who originally hailed from Ghana, who was passionate in his defence of his pupils.

The next school I went to was Hackney Downs School.  Although it was an ordinary inner-cty comprehensive by the time I went there, it started life as an old fashioned grammar school.  It was closed down in the early 90s – allegedly for being the worst in Britain.  Upon reflection, there seem to have been other, more political agendas at work.  At any rate, my memories of the school were almost entirely positive.  The teachers were generally very committed and came from a very diverse range of backgrounds: unusually perhaps, one of the senior teachers was a Rastafarian (Mr Vance), and in general it was seen (especially by the Education Authority) as a hotbed of left-wing activism (which it was).  Here’s a picture of the school, taken shortly before it was demolised (to make way for a smart new City Academy: Mossbourne Community Academy)

Here’s the old science block.  I remember playing football there between lessons.

Hackney Marshes – with the tower blocks in the distance – a now long since vanished skyline!  Hackney Marshes is said to contain the largest concentration of football (soccer) pitches in Europe!  I have no way of knowing if that’s true, but I do have many funny memories of watching the football on sunday mornings (with the constant stream of colourful language, and the copious supply of alcohol)!

Hackney Town Hall – with the Unemployment figures hanging over the front, a favourite slogan of 80s Labour councils in London.

A bowls match on Hackney Downs, very close to my secondary school.  It all looks very relaxed – but, from my memories of the park at this time, this was probably an isolated outbreak of calm!

Hackney Downs Festival in the mid-80s.  I remember such occasions with fondness.

Hackney at its best!  This comes from somewhere near Dalston Lane (again, not far from my old school)

Stamford Hill in the 80s.  This area had (and still has) a very large Orthodox Jewish community.  It lies halfway between my old home in Hackney and my grandparents home in Tottenham.  I have many pleasant memories of walking past this shop on my way to catch the bus hom.

The East End Pie ‘n’ Mash Shop – a disappearing London tradition (Pie and Mash ClubBBC information with a recipe); .  Pie ‘n’ Mash shops catered to the working class people of East London, offering mince pies, mashed potato and liquor (a parsley source) – tasty food at a cheap price.  Jellied eels were another delicacy on offer (yuck)!  Here’s a photo of a pie ‘n’ mash shop still in operation in Walthamstow Market (check out the Victorian decor: courtesy of Essexjan).

I plan to add some more text soon, insha Allah.

Related post: Images of Clapton and Hackney

Ma’as salama,
Abdur Rahman

19 thoughts on “A Hackney Childhood

  1. Salaams

    When we left university, friends and I lived off lea bridge road (clapton end) near the mosque. Actually, we lived in the street in between those big parks. All these pictures you have posted look really familiar! I used to get the 38 bus home, and it was one of the last routemaster open-backed buses.

  2. Salaams Mr Moo,

    Welcome to my online home.

    I used to live about 10 minutes walk away from this masjid. When I first became Muslim officially, this was my main local mosque for a short time.

    I too remember the old routemaster buses on no. 38.

    Abdur Rahman

  3. Hi,

    Thanks for posting these pictures. I found them whilst searching for images of Hackney Downs school that I went to. Coicidently, I also lived in the tower block on Hackeny Marshes. I just wanted to say the picture you describe as the old Science block is in fact the old Swimming Pool block with the tuck shop at the back of it. To the far left is the sloping roof on which we used play “Fives”. Sad that this part of my life no longer exists. Good pictures.

  4. Hello Abdur,
    Thanks for publishing these words and pictures about Hackney downs school.
    I went there from 1972 – 1977 and have many fond memories, especially playing “fives” both in the fives courts and at break times in the playgrounds.
    We enjoyed it so much that many a Maths lesson was used up while we were still outside playing fives !
    I can remember fondly many of the teachers, Mr James and Dalahl” for maths, Miss Hene for English, Mr Simons for history Mr Mclaren and Mr Fry for Art. plus a few more but its many years ago now !
    Plus those school friends: Martin Crump, Shelley Howard, Perry Chidwick, douglas Fenner.
    It would be great to hear from these guys again.

    I am 50 this year and still look back fondly on my time at the school.

  5. Hi Philip

    I went to Hackney Downs from 1984 – 1989. John Kemp was Headmaster in those days. In spite of its apparent reputation as being the worst school in Britain (which I think was largely political), my memories of the school were almost entirely positive.

  6. I too attended Hackney Downs from 1980 – 1985 I remember Mr Vance. I spent a lot of time with him, as he kind of took me under his wing (behaviour was not great) despite not being my Head of House. Shame the building has gone and therefore cannot revisit, but as always material objects fade after time, but true memories good and bad do not! Thank you for posting pics… oh memory lane 🙂

  7. Hi my name is Dean Perry,
    I was at Hackney Downs from 1971until 1976. Fond memories, I did lots of sports(more than learning) also remember Mr.Fry, Mr Walker Maths, Mr Chatwin PE andMr. Hardcaslte English Teacher. I also remember that German Taecher Miss Something a real Dragon. It was a good school, close to where I lived. Staplehurst House. Remember friends Eric Cooper Kevin Maher Derek Mitchell Glen Krump Richard Brown and a few more. Thanks for reminding me.

  8. I attended Hackney Downs during 83-86, and i remember Mr Vance also , i was in his house while there, i would love to find him, and attended Mandeville prior to that… I lived in the towers across the street from Mandeville school back then… My family still live by the Community Center around the corner. I have fond memories of that school, the teachers, friends… Its a shame my epilepsy has left me with memory loss.. I would love to track everyone down from back then… Great pictures, its glad to see others still remember. And the pictures are great, it looks just like my childhood….

  9. Welcome Derek,

    I went to Mandeville Primary between 78 – 83, and then Hackney Downs from 84-89. I was in Mrs Bailey’s class for the first year, in the old Craig house. I have many fond memories of both schools. It’s possible that we’ve already met back then. My given name is Richard Cawley.

  10. Good to see that you have found your way in this life i knew you when you were a nipper it’s nice to see that someone from my younger days is doing positive things in this crazy world but maybe it’s not so crazy and it’s just crazy in my head at the moment but I must say it was nice to come across your blog why I was surfing the net so late at night and its has give me inspirations that I can come out of the mind set where I am at the moment keep up the good work .
    Sunny wishes
    Simon.
    Ps you only won that award cause i had left Mandeville by then LOL

  11. Greetings to the Hackney Downs veterans. Did my stint in Bachelor house between 81-85 and look back with mixed feelings.

    I remember watching Dalton Grant doing the high jump in an area near the Gym (in the Arts/D&T block photo above) and soda floats from the ice cream van that would park in the sheltered area between the said buildings. Who would have thought what his future held.

    I too believe that there was an agenda to run the school down. Think about it. A school on Prime land, with its own swimming pool and access to a boat house on the River Lea. I remember canoeing and rowing (admittedly in the filthy water) when I realised that I wasn’t that great at football and couldn’t be bothered enduring the coach trip to the games fields that were located in Enfield (football, cricket and athletics). I remember telling some colleagues about the range of sports facilities and had to laugh when he asked me if I went to a private school?

    I was in the area the other day and noticed that despite building the Mossbourne Academy, they have kept the old brick wall at the front. Which makes it look like a prison.

    EW

    ps. couldn’t resist the urge to climb the fence to enter Hackney Downs Park and prove to myself that I still could!

  12. Greetings EW,

    I was there from 84 – 89, and was in Craig House while it lasted. I remember the Ice Cream van under the sheltered area. I remember the football pitch in Enfield, and canoeing on the River Lea!

  13. Don’t know if this page is still in use, but I remember you, my name is Robert hemsworth, I was in your class and you did live on the nye bevan estate. I remember most of my teachers from mandeville and Hackney downs. My class teachers from mandeville were, miss misch, Mrs Bowles, mr Edwards and mr newland. Used to enjoy watching the power station being demolished from the playground.
    Went to Hackney downs after for 3 years, the teachers I remember there were, mr Dalal (tutor and maths), mr Davies (housemaster), miss turner, miss askew, mr wilkinson, mr reeves, mr knapett, mr Gunter, miss Magee, mr Craig, to name a few. I had the pleasure of visiting Hackney downs after it closed down and it had been thoroughly wrecked unfortunately, the old science block, which caught fire at the time we attended, had had its basement boiler room completely flooded out as well. Was a good school, but was allowed to deteriorate. Mr griffiths was a very kind and reasonable head teacher. Hope you are doing OK in life.

Leave a comment