The Moon of My Memories

Peace, one and all…

As I left my house last night to go to the mosque, I happened to glance up at the sky.  There, amidst strands of delicate cloud, rose the moon – resplendent in its loveliness, harbinger of beloved memories.  There is nothing quite like the beauty of the moon, when silver beams transform the darkness into an entire symphony of light.

As I turned my gaze towards heaven, I was suddenly struck by a great wave of memories – as if reminding us of all that we have been is the moon’s most sacred task.  Moonlight has thus accompanied many of my life’s most special moments.  I walked from the house of my first love beneath a beautiful June moon, when the night air was both sweet and filled with wonder.  I sat upon a stone bench with a friend as we both discussed life’s meaning beneath a cold full moon.  Allah!  I have seen many beautiful things in and by moonlight. 

I have gazed upon the face of Luna many, many times and with each new sight I am reminded just how much I love her.  I have watched her travel through the night sky and my heart has leapt for joy at her appearance in the heavens.

Now, hear in the heart of the blessed month of Ramadan, I have blessed by her appearance once again.  And in this month she shines with renewed vigour, strength and heart-rending beauty.

Wa akhiru da’wana an il hamdu lillahi rabbil alameen.

Ma’as salama,
Abdur Rahman

15 thoughts on “The Moon of My Memories

  1. There is no place the moon does not shine,
    But it only illuminates in the hearts of those who gaze at it.

    Honen

    Peace, Abdur

  2. Oh, this post just drew me in from the title onwards. So beautiful. So much the way the seasons of the moon make me feel. “…my heart has leapt for joy at her appearance in the heavens.” Lovely.

  3. Beautifully written, and you bring back similar memories for me – of looking at a woman’s face turned up to me under moonlignt and being startled by the beauty. Also, on a freezing night in NH, looking up into the face of a statue of an angel under the stars and all lit up by a full moon.

  4. You will like the photo accompianing my most recent post then! Not shameless self-promotion really, just Sana’a in moonlight was so special.

    Ramadan Mubarak to you and your family.

Leave a comment