Bahar Movahed & Ali Akbar Moradi: Goblet of Eternal Light

Peace, one and all…

Light in the Forest --- Image by © Tony Hallas/Science Faction/Corbis

A beautiful poem set to wonderful music.  Enjoy and may your day be blessed.

By the eternal light of this goblet
what can I do if I do not remove
the darkness of false virtue from my own self?

By such a flame
what can I do if I do not light up
the endless darkness of this night?

If there is something in the treasury of my heart,
it is my passion, my fervor for you, so with such a balm
what can I do if I do not cure the wound of love?

My loved ones have gone away on the grim reaper’s caravan.
O death, please take me to my loved ones
so that I might not be left behind.

Now that the beloved postpones her sight
to the Day of Resurrection,
what can I do if do not mourn until the promised day?

Mamoosta Mahwi

One thought on “Bahar Movahed & Ali Akbar Moradi: Goblet of Eternal Light

Leave a Reply

