Ramadan Day 1: Humility Arises Only Out Of A Loftiness

Peace, one and all…

395211_385112651557160_816043581_n

Today is the first day of Ramadan, the Muslim month of fasting.  It is a time for worship and for introspection.  As such, this year I am exploring the spiritual aphorisms of Ibn Ata’illah, a spiritual master from the late 13th – early 14th centuries.  His aphorisms have long been seen as important, for their wisdom, clarity and above all, their direct challenges to our wayward hearts (nafs).  I chose the Hikam because it has always challenged me, moved me out of my comfort zone, and so I wanted to spend some time living with these aphorisms during this Ramadan.

I have chosen to focus on Chapter 25, which looks closely at notions of humility and spiritual poverty, though I will also look at other chapters too.  Each day I will offer a short reading.  I will also post relevant lectures too, as God wills.

He who attributes humility to himself is really proud,
for humility arises only out of a loftiness;
so, when you attribute humility to yourself,
then you are proud.

Ibn Ata’illah, Hikam 238

Leave a Reply

