No Matter How I Complain and Cry

Peace, one and all…

Ay, no matter how I complain and cry,
Love does with me as she pleases.
I wish to give her every day,
praise and honour.
Ay, Love, would that your eyes could see my commitment!

Speaking of this gives me courage,
since first there was at your high stage,
your attractive fragrance.

Ay Love, you have never lied,
in what you showed me in my youth.
That for which I yearn; what you are able to give.
Be medicine!

Ah yes, you Love, who are the guardian of all,
for love’s sake, give me what gladdens me most,
because you are the mother of all virtue,
lady and queen.
Hadewych, Lyrics 41

Leave a Reply

