Shelter

Peace, one and all…

 

‘Those fixed in longing on the face of the Friend
will never swerve from the circle of his love.

I will rise from the dust of the grave like a tulip,
its black inner core the mark of my yearning.

Rare, singular Jewel – where are you?
Grieving you, the world wept oceans.

From the tip of the eyelash, vast floods of water –
Come, I can show you the river.

Like my naked heart, emerge from beneath the veil –
who knows when we might meet again?

Let the shadow of your braid play across my head
that my heart may find rest in its shade.

So proud of heart, you won’t even look at Hafiz…
but then, indifference is the mark of the beautiful
(Hafiz Shirazi)

Leave a Reply

