Justice and Love

Peace, one and all…

 

All that God does is just, and that justice is based on His overflowing love.  If justice is about putting all things in their rightful place, in due order and proportion, then love is the root cause of that drive towards equilibrium.  Justice, then, is God’s love in transformative motion.  It is the still middle point, the balance, set up that we might achieve wholeness.  Love is the pivot, on which this balance rests and moves, that we might learn of life’s ebb and flow:

‘The Most Merciful
Taught the Qur’an,
Created man,
[And] taught him eloquence.
The sun and the moon [move] by precise calculation,
And the stars and trees prostrate.
And the heaven He raised and imposed the  balance
That you not transgress within the balance.
And establish weight  in justice and do not make deficient the balance’
(Surah al-Rahman 55:1-9)

Understanding that love is the foundation of justice can teach us many things.  In my own life, seeing justice as love’s own movement has helped me come to terms with all sorts of things.  It also reminds me of the need for mercy, in my dealings with others, in my dealings with myself, as the Prophet himself said (alaihi al-salatu wa al-salam):

‘Whoever does not show mercy will not be shown mercy’ (Adab al-Mufrad no. 91)

Reflecting further, I begin to realise that justice is not the same thing as anger.  The operation of justice does not, by itself, require me to become angry and bitter.  Rather, it requires me to see that justice is itself a mercy, and that both of these things arise first in God, arise first in love.  The Prophet (alaihi al-salatu wa al-salam) relates the beautiful words of God, in which Hu says:

‘My mercy overcomes my wrath’ (source)

As above, so below.  May my mercy always overcome my own wrath.  May I always hold fast to justice, to truth and to love.

Wa akhiru da`wana an il hamdu lillahi rabbil alameen.

Ma’as salama,
Abdur Rahman

 

Leave a Reply

