Hope Emerges from Despair

Peace, one and all…

A story told of Ibrahim ibn Adham, a famous early Sufi.  In it, he reports a dream of his.

‘One night I dreamt that I saw the angel Gabriel (alaihi al-salam).  He came to earth from heaven with a piece of paper in his hand.  I asked him, ‘What do you want?’  ‘I am writing down the names of he friends of the Real,’ he said.  ‘Will you write my name down too?’ I asked.  ‘You are not one of them’.  ‘But I love the friends of the Real’. Gabriel thought for a moment.  Then he said, ‘I have been commanded, “Record Ibrahim’s name first”‘.  On this path, hope emerges from despair.’

Taken from the Tadhkirat al-Awliya (Memorials of the Saints) by Farid al-Din Attar.

‘Say, “O My servants who have transgressed against themselves [by sinning], do not despair of the mercy of Allah . Indeed, Allah forgives all sins. Indeed, it is He who is the Forgiving, the Merciful”‘ (39:53)

Leave a Reply

