In the Fold of My Cloak…

Peace, one and all…

Meri Bukkal De Vich Chor Chor, or ‘In the Fold of My Cloak hides the Beloved Thief’, is a beautiful and profound poem by Baba Bulleh Shah, a major Sufi poet of the Punjab region of India.  It is, by all accounts, a much loved poem and is often set to music.  Here is a wonderful rendition by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan.  I have added an English translation of the text below.

Enjoy and may all who pass by this day be blessed.

Meri Bukkal De Vich Chor Chor

‘In the fold of my cloak hides the beloved Thief
to whom shall I complain?

Stealthily he escaped,
and a tumult arose in the world.

The Muslims are averse to being cremated;
the Hindus are loath to be buried.
Both die quarrelling over this wrangle.
Such is the cause of enmity between them!

 Somewhere he is Ram Das, somewhere
Fateh Mohammed,
This indeed is the ancient uproar!
Their quarrel came to an end
When someone else made his appearance.

 Calls came from the resplendent heavens;
They were heard at throne of Lahore.
King Inayat has fixed the net
and, on the sly, pulls the cord.

 Whosoever searched for Him, found Him.
He did not have to suffer dejection.
The Master of Masters belonged to Baghdad;
My own Master adorned the throne of Lahore.

 O you all, join me to shout:
He himself the kite, He is himself the string;
I disclose His whereabouts, you go and catch
the Beloved Thief belonging to Bulleh Shah.

 In the fold of my cloak hides the beloved Thief
to whom shall I complain?’

2 thoughts on “In the Fold of My Cloak…

Leave a Reply

