I Pray Always for Your Welfare

Peace, one and all…

Nit Khair Mangan is one of my favourite qawwals.  It is a beautiful poetic meditation on transformative love.  Two versions are offered.  The first is a live version, performed in the UK during the 1980s I believe.  The second is a longer CD version.  Both are beautiful.  Enjoy and may we all be transformed by the power of love.

Version 1: Live Performance

Version 2
[vimeo 23403932]

Nit Khair Mangan

I pray always for your welfare.

What more can I ask of God?

My only prayer is for your long life,

Because without my guardian, my true love

I am a worthless, ugly wretch.

I pray and pray that you might be blessed

And spared from every grief.

I pray for God to keep watch over you.

I pray and I pray for your welfare my love,

This is my only prayer.

Let me die at your feet,

This is my only prayer.

What more can I ask of God?

 Let me carry the burden of your grief,

And God keep you from harm.

When I was cut off from you, my love,

I felt abandoned by the whole world.

Now it fills me with joy,

Just praying for you.

When I found you I discovered the universe.

Ma’as salama,
Abdur Rahman

Leave a Reply

