Prayers for Ramadan, Prayers for Forgiveness (Part 3)

Peace, one and all…

Here, in the last days of Ramadan, is the final part of the beautiful prayer of Abu Madyan.  May all who pass by be blessed with Divine forgiveness, mercy and love.

The Supplication for Forgiveness of Abu Madyan (Part 3)

‘I seek the forgiveness of God, as often as the number of letters [in the Quran] and multiplicity of
Quranic verses and aphorisms recited during invocation.

I seek the forgiveness of God, as often as the number of riding animals,
worlds beyond the horizons, and landmarks in the earth.

I seek the forgiveness of God, as often as the number of plants and
sheep on the land and [the amount of] bounty in the sea.

I seek the forgiveness of God, as often as the number of heavenly bodies
encompassed by knowledge, and for everything that is apparent and hidden.

I seek the forgiveness of God, as often as the number of [grains of] sand,
and the [amount of] rain that falls continuously on the earth.

I seek the forgiveness of God, as often as the number of created things –
of human beings and jinn, of Arabs and non-Arabs.

I seek the forgiveness of God, as often as the number of thoughts in
the breasts of those endowed with trust, authority, and wisdom.

I seek the forgiveness of God – all majesty be to God, our Creator,
Creator of mankind and the One who brought us forth from nothingness.

I seek the forgiveness of God – all majesty be to God, Who provided for us
prior to physical existence, and Who apportions all the shares [of worldly destiny].

I seek the forgiveness of God, Whose bounties are without number,
the All-Encompassing, the Most Excellent, [the One] noted for generosity.

I seek the forgiveness of God – all majesty be to God, Who gathers us in [at death],
the annihilator of centuries, and the annihilator of all nations.

I seek the forgiveness of God – all majesty be to God, Who resurrects us
after death, and Who gives life to decaying bones.

I seek the forgiveness of God, innumerable times,
as often as the number of known species and breaths of life.

I seek the forgiveness of God – on Him be praises without number,
[for] He causes Himself to be praised pre-eternally.

I seek the forgiveness of God, the Forgiver of sins Who, whenever
the slave disobeys, forgives him with indulgence and generosity.

So forgive me the greatest of my transgressions, and
[on] the Day of Judgement, when my feet are about to stumble,

Then may blessings be upon the Chosen One from Mudar,
the Best of Mankind, among those who weep or smile.

And may his family and companions be preserved
by our Lord, along with [all] their followers’.

2 thoughts on “Prayers for Ramadan, Prayers for Forgiveness (Part 3)

Leave a Reply

