An Unexpected Sohbet

Peace, one and all…

Al hamdu lillahi ala kulli hal.  Praise be to God in every condition and state.

I have been in London for the past three weeks, taking an intensive Arabic course with the Ibn Jabal Institute.  Ma sha Allah!  It has been as interesting and as challenging as I hoped it would be.  I am looking forward to grounding what I have learnt in further study, insha Allah.  As this is my last weekend in London before I return home, I took this opportunity to visit the Study Society in West London.  It has a regular Mevlevi turning group and my intention was to attend one of their beginner’s classes.  As God willed, on this occasion the class wasn’t meeting.  Instead I was invited to a small Rumi study group.  Praise be to God for His every blessing.  It was a beautiful evening.  We sang a number of my favourite Turkish ilahis and shared a number of profound poems of Hazret-i Mevlana (God sanctify his noble soul).  Discussing these poems and the issues they raise in a supportive, sharing environment (in sohbet in other words) was wonderful, and doubly so for being unexpected.

During our sohbet we touched on the themes of love and death.  Our older sister spoke of the death of her brother and then made a revealing and for me, important comment: ‘Now that he has passed on, he is always in my heart, where he is never in pain’.  This struck me as significant.  Our sister had clearly gone beyond my own recent realisations about love and death.  I felt an instant connection with her words, and a brief expansion of perspective.  Perhaps love is the only thing that survives us in this world.  Perhaps the love we strive to manifest is the real reason for our actual embodiment.

May our love be ever sanctified.  May all those we love live on in our hearts.  And may we, in our turn, live on in the hearts of those we love.

Wa akhiru da’wana an il hamdu lillahi rabbil alamin.

Ma’as salama,
Abdur Rahman

5 thoughts on “An Unexpected Sohbet

  1. I still harbour completely inexplicable desires to learn Arabic… Maybe one day. It really sounds like a Guided experience.
    Shalom and brightest blessings
    Pia

  2. Shalom Pia

    I have enjoyed the course immensely, even though it has been a lot of work. I need a holiday!

    As for the unexpected sohbet, Allah! It definitely was a guided experience. Praise be indeed.

    Bright blessings to you….:)

  3. Like Pia I, too, harbour a somewhat inexplicable desire to study Arabic. It seems beautiful, powerful and mysterious. What a wonderful opportunity to take this course.

    I was struck by the comment this sister made about the brother’s death, because it is so similar to my own experience. My poor brother suffered from dementia in the last years of his life and after the first grief had passed, I felt almost as if I had him back, in my heart. There is a sense of timelessness to our lives that I find difficult to describe.

    I can claim no great spiritual wisdom in this, it was a gift given to me, and your previous post with its beautiful words about hidden posts is another gift. Thank you.

    Al hamdu lillahi ala kulli hal indeed.

  4. Peace Tess

    It was a wonderful opportunity, thanks be to God – even though it was also quite intense!

    It was seeing the realisation reflected back through the eyes of another that struck me so deeply. In that sense, we only die once – we continue to live in the hearts of those we have loved and who have loved us – forever untouched by illness and woe. Allah!

Leave a Reply

