A Link in the Chain

Peace, one and all…

Recently, I have found myself wondering about love and death.  Specifically, what happens to our love when we die?  Or, more personally, what happens to the love I feel for my wife and children, for my parents and sister, and for my friends and family, when I die?  Does it merely evaporate?  If it does, what purpose does love serve?  And if not, what happens to our love when we leave this mortal world?

As these thoughts were turning themselves over in my mind yesterday, I had a sudden moment of realisation: the love I feel for my children will pass on to them when I die.  That is, if I am able to live as love demands, my love will remain in my children’s hearts – like a tiny hidden pearl.  And in their turn, insha Allah, they will pass on this love to their children, and so on into the future – thus will love be nurtured and maintained.  I find this realisation profound for several reasons.  Firstly, I am reminded that whatever may happen to ‘me’ after my death my love will live on.  Secondly, I am also reminded that I myself am a product of the love of those before me – most obviously my parents, but also all of those who came before me.  I am merely a link in an ever-unfolding chain.  Thirdly, our love is what makes us truly human; indeed, it is our most quintessentially human quality.  We are made to love, to manifest love, to become love itself  – in all that we are and do.  Huuu….

And Allah says in His Noble Book:

‘And your Lord has decreed that you not worship except Him, and to parents, good treatment. Whether one or both of them reach old age [while] with you, say not to them [so much as], “uff,” and do not repel them but speak to them a noble word.  And lower to them the wing of humility out of mercy and say, “My Lord, have mercy upon them as they brought me up [when I was] small” (Surah Isra 17:23-24)

Wa akhiru da’wana an il hamdu lillahi rabbil alamin.

Ma’as salama,
Abdur Rahman

5 thoughts on “A Link in the Chain

Leave a Reply

