Rays of Light

Peace, one and all…

Al hamdu lillah.  Here in Wales, the weather has been beautiful of late.  Cool, gently warming mornings and warm, sunny afternoons.  Allah!  So it was that as I travelled to work recently I found myself listening to Roy Ayers’ beautiful ode to summer Everybody Loves the Sunshine.  As I listened, I found myself thinking about all the divisions that humanity foolishly imposes upon itself.  What an utter waste of time they all are!  Racism, sexism, nationalism, religious bigotry, class snobbery – what a complete waste of our precious, and all too short, time on earth they are.

As I thought about these things, a sudden idea came to me, all unbidden:

‘What if I understand each person I meet as a unique manifestation of divine love and beauty?  What if I understand each person as another ray of light from the same divine source?  What if I strive to actually see them this way?’

That is, a fundamental unity exists beyond all of the divisions we impose upon ourselves, a human unity beyond words and concepts, a human unity that reflects the unity of our common origin.  Thinking in this way brings other questions out into the light, and I have been mulling them over ever since: How might such an understanding transform my own relationships, my own interactions with the wider world?  How might this sudden and unexpected revelation help me see truth more fully?  What should I do with this realisation?

Questions.  There are always questions.  But that seems to be the human condition itself.  So, for now, I am happy enough walking with them, and seeing where they might lead. 

In closing, I hope you enjoy this song as much as I do.  May all that you do this day be blessed…

Wa akhiru da’wana an il hamdu lillahi rabbil alameen.

Ma’as salama,
Abdur Rahman

Leave a Reply

