The Prayer of Ma`ruf al-Karkhi

Peace, one and all…

normal_s95b1

‘God is enough for me in my religion.  God is enough for me in my mundane life.  God, the Generous, is enough for me in what distresses me.  God, the Affectionate, is enough for me against him who oppresses me.  God, the Stern, is enough for me against him who hurts me by evil.  God, the Compassionate, is enough for me at death.  God, the Merciful, is enough for me at the Inquisition in the Grave.  God, the Generous, is enough for me at the Reckoning.  God, the Beneficient, is enough for me at the Scales.  God, the Powerful, is enough for me at the crossing of the Traverse.  God is enough for me.  There is no god but Him.  In Him do I trust, and He is the Lord of the Glorious Throne [Quran 9:129]’
(taken from Imam al-Ghazali, The Revival of the Religious Sciences, Invocations and Supplications)

10 thoughts on “The Prayer of Ma`ruf al-Karkhi

  1. Machallah, this duah sums up everything i would like to say to Allah in my prayers.thank you.

  2. Dear Brother Abdur Rahman

    Assalamualaikum. Do you know if an arabic transcript of The Prayer of Ma`ruf al-Karkhi is available anywhere? I will be highly obliged for help in this regard.

    Beast regards

  3. Wa alaikum salam Siddiqui,

    Welcome to my online home. Allah bless you. Unfortunately, I don’t know where you might get an Arabic transcript of this dua. I took it from Imam al-Ghazali’s Ihya Ulum al-Din. Presumably, you will be able to find it there.

  4. Thank you brother Abdur Rahman. If you ever come across the Arabic version, please remember me. I looked for the book and it is difficult to be sure about the book before purchase. It might have been published with modified names and it is difficult to know if that very dua is included in all the versions. Therefore can you please give more precise details about the book from where you noted it?

  5. Thank you very much; but did you not say that it does not have the Arabic? Or does it?

Leave a Reply

