I Came to Your Door

Peace, one and all…

yahazrat-emaulana

I came to your door
all unknowingly
and still,
you did not turn me away.

Turning this way and that,
in my unfortunate state,
I found my way to you,
to find your hand already outstretched.

You spoke into the very heart of me
and I felt the breath of heaven:
‘Come back to life,
and walk beneath the sun once more’.

I am yours beloved friend.
Let the world think whatsoever it will:
should a grain of sand ever be ashamed
of the beauty of the rising sun?

Abdur Rahman, 17th March, 2009

10 thoughts on “I Came to Your Door

  1. should a grain of sand ever be ashamed of the beauty of the rising sun?
    extremely beautiful expression.
    thank you for sharing .
    love n peace

  2. Assalamualaikum Br Abdur Rahman

    If you recite this poem upon your visit of Mawlana Rumi, then his spirit will begin whirling in joy.

    Katib

  3. al-salamu alaikum Priya,

    Thank you for your kind thoughts. All that his beautiful comes from God. Only the mistakes are mine. I am glad you enjoyed my poem in honour of Mevlana (God sanctify his soul)

  4. Wa alaikum salam Katib,

    Jazak Allah for your kind thought. Ya Allah! May God bless you and your family always.

    May God shower his mercies upon the soul of Mevlana Jalaluddin Rumi. Ya Hazret-i Mevlana Hakk Dost!

  5. As-salamu alaikum Abdur Rahman, Thank you once more for another beautiful poem. One that I can relate to strongly.

    Hamid.

  6. Salams Mahan,

    Welcome to my online home. Allah bless you always.

    I’m not sure exactly what you mean, as I wrote this poem myself. At any rate, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Khuda hafiz

    Abdur Rahman

Leave a Reply

