In Honour of Muhammad (alaihi al-salatu wa al-salam)

Peace, one and all…

rose1.jpg

According to most Sunni scholars, the Seal of the Prophets, Muhammad al-Mustafa alaihi al-salatu wa al-salam, was born on 12th Rabi al-Awwal.  According to most Shi`a scholars, he alaihi al-salatu wa al-salam was born on 17th Rabi al-Awwal.  At any rate, according to the Sunni reckoning, 12th Rabi al-Awwal this year falls on March 20th (today, in other words).

So, in honour of Muhammad al-Mustafa alaihi al-salatu wa al-salam, here are a collection of posts from around the net marking the occasions, as well as a poem I recently wrote.

Allahumma salli ala Sayyidina Muhammad wa alihi

What Can I Say?

What can I say of Muhammad?
He is my caring friend,
when the troubles of the world
weigh heavily upon my shoulders.

He is my patient counsellor
when the path before me
becomes uncertain
and all seems veiled in fog.

His name is my joyful sigh of gratitude
when I see sunlight sparkling
upon a swiftly flowing river
or caressing the old hands of trees.

His words are my refuge,
my unbreakable shelter,
when I would run in fear
from this narrow self of me.

He is my prophet,
the bearer of heaven’s message of love,
whose blessed remembrance
is as a rosegarden of wonder.

But most of all,
he is my beloved,
who calls out to me from the place of love
that he and I might one day meet in joy.

(Abdur Rahman, 19th March 2008)

Related posts: Muhammad’s Bright Rose; On Account of the Weak Among You

Ma’as salama,
Abdur Rahman

15 thoughts on “In Honour of Muhammad (alaihi al-salatu wa al-salam)

  1. Dearest Brother Abdur,
    Salaam and my warm greetings for you; On this Blessed Occasion of Milad -un-Nabi I offer you my sincerest heartfelt prayers…
    May The Beloved Prophet Shower on you and your blessed family His Unceasing mercy and may you meet Him in bliss 🙂
    May Allah always have a loving glance on you brother and may He illuminate your Path of Love with His Light.
    Keep shining Brother!
    My love and prayers for a very beautiful and blessed soul :))

  2. Assalamualaikum Br Abdur Rahman

    “His words are my refuge,
    my unbreakable shelter,
    when I would run in fear
    from this narrow self of me.”

    – Profound and deep.

    Katib

  3. Peace Krishna NC,

    Thank you for your kind, heartfelt words. I am honoured by them, and the gift of giving redounds to the credit of the giver!

    Amin to your prayers. May God bless you, open your heart and fill you with light, now and always. 🙂

    Allahumma salli ala Sayyidina Muhammad

    Abdur Rahman

  4. Abdur,

    Unfortunately my understanding of Arabic is very limited and somehow google translate could not make anything out of your comment. What did you say?

    I am intrigued by the possiblity of using a roman character set to write Arabic. The Arabic translators that I have found for Palm require reading Arabic characters and that task seems a little too daunting for me.

Leave a Reply

