And Yet I Strive

Peace, one and all…

al-adl-large.jpg

I strive to speak words of hope and encouragement, for that is the desire of my heart.  I strive to move beyond what is limited and limiting.  I strive to let my heart speak through my mouth and hands.

I am not perfect, and so my words always fall short of the mark, and short of my intent.  I am not yet whole and so my words do not reach into every heart.

And so, though my open hands seek naught but connection, sometimes my grasp is weaker than my desire.  But, there is a handhold that never breaks and One that holds my life in its outstretched palm.  Let me say it as plainly as I can, that Hand is the loving kindness of God.

Ma’as salama,
Abdur Rahman

6 thoughts on “And Yet I Strive

  1. each of your post is so wonderfully and softly weaved in the petals of fragrant words.. thouroughly enjoyed it

  2. I’m not a believer, but I prefer the company of artists and believers because it think it’s a short-cut to their inner world and the beauty of their soul. You’re a lovely writer, thank you for your blog.

  3. Salaams Abdur Rahman Bhai,

    Subhan Allah! Due to glory of His Hand, a combination of a beautiful heart, mind and hands reaches and touches countless hearts……..

    although in a different context, the mention of hands reminds me of a parable that i recently heard from a great Iranian Shaykh Muhsin Qaraati. According to him, the Imam who leads the prayer of one, two, three people, Allah’s blessings on him increases as the number of people increase…….but when the number reaches ten, the blessings are countless, for the number of people they would in turn influence. He compares them to the fingers of the hands like with one finger, you can dial a phone number, with two you can grip on to something, and with every added finger you can do additional tasks……but when the number reaches ten, the possibilites are endless. Alhamdulillah.

    May His Hand alway guide yours and others through you. Ameen

    sf

  4. Salaams SF,

    Jazak Allah for your kind thoughts. Allah bless you always.

    Beyond all my faults and weaknesses, may God’s hand be ever raised above us.

    Abdur Rahman

Leave a comment